Why I Loved La La Land with a Capital ‘L’

Let me make this clear: this is not a review. I’m well aware that the internet is beyond saturated with La La Land reviews, along with those weighing in on the intense debate over whether Emma Stone can sing or not, so I’ll spare you that too. No, I just want to share why I laughed/cried/smiled my way through what has fast become one of my favourite movies.

The Costumes

Dammmmmn does this wardrobe department know how to colour block. From the first scene this film is a cornucopia of colour, with everyone from the leads to the extras in vibrant shades of red, green, blue and yellow.  But amongst the rainbow, it’s Emma Stone’s wardrobe that steals the show. This girl can pull off any colour and her character, aspiring actress Mia Dolan, seems to make it her mission to do so

Here she is in the iconic yellow dress from the poster that’s been all over your Facebook feed

la-land-yellow-dress1

A pink one

lll-wardrobe-pink

And a green one (that has matching jewellery and makes me wish I had occasions to go to where I could dress this fancy)

mtqzndy1mjc0ndmwmdcxotuw

I need her entire wardrobe on my body right now. And hair. Her hair would be nice too.

The Feels

Why did no one tell me, the person who cried in Let’s Be Cops, that La La Land is absolutely heartbreaking? I was completely unprepared for the rollercoaster of emotions it took me o, or the way it  somehow cohesively channelled all my favourite movies. For example, the romance between Mia and Sebastian is equal parts heart-warming and heart-wrenching in the same way the storylines in When Harry Met Sally and 500 Days of Summer are. It tugs on the heart strings but can’t be classified as a Titanic-esque tragedy. Speaking of which, there’s a section of the film (one I can’t discuss too much because #spoilers) that channels a certain scene from the 1997 blockbuster that, if you’re anything like me, will really get you wiping the running mascara off your face.

Bonus: Ryan Gosling gets all fired up at one point of the movie and I thought I was seeing Noah Calhoun ask Allie what she wants. See GIF below for reference.

the-notebook-what-do-you-want-4

Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling

Regardless of subject or genre, the Emma Stone/Ryan Gosling combo will draw audiences to cinemas. Not only are they very likeable as individuals (see Feminist Ryan Gosling meme and Emma Stone answering 73 questions for Vogue) but together it’s almost too much charm and pretty for 128 minutes.

Now go feast your eyes and emotions on the masterpiece that is La La Land.

Image sources: all belong to Summit Entertainment except The Notebook GIF which is Tumblr’s finest

Leave a Reply

